Skip to main content

Recording Access Policy: Who Can View Recordings?

Control who can access your session recordings

Recording access policies let you control who can view session recordings. Set a default policy for your organization, override it for individual Spaces, or update access for individual sessions.

Only organization admins can override recording settings.

Set the Default Recording Access Policy

You can update your default policy from Settings → Recordings under Recording Access Policy. By default, only session participants and admins can view recordings.

Users must be signed in to their Lessonspace account to view recordings.

Override the Access Policy for a Space

You can override your organisation's default recording access policy for an individual Space when creating or editing it. Changes apply only to future sessions in that Space. Existing sessions and sessions already in progress are not affected.

To change the access policy for an existing session, update it from the Sessions page.

Set the Recording Access Policy for a Session

On the Sessions page, you'll see the current recording access policy for sessions with a recording. To change it, select More Actions → Change Recording Access.

Accessing a Recording

If a user who isn't signed in tries to access a recording, they'll be prompted to log in.

If a signed-in user doesn't have permission to view a recording for example, because their role isn't allowed or they weren't a participant when the access policy is Participants - they'll be unable to view it.

If a recording is shared with someone who isn't signed in, it must be protected with a password, as explained here. To view the recording, they'll need to enter the password.

FAQ

What does “any recordings” mean?

This refers to recordings that a user either participated in or has been given a direct link to.

What's the recommended setup?

For most organizations, we recommend the default setting: Participants and Admins. This allows teachers and students to access recordings of sessions they participated in, while anyone with a shared recording link and password (such as a parent) can also view the recording.

Did this answer your question?