Skip to main content

Managing Recordings: Store and Delete Session Recordings

This guide explains how to manage your Lessonspace session recordings, including storage settings and how to delete recordings.

Note that you'll have to first enable recordings as per our guide here.

Storing recordings

By default, all session recordings are stored for a rolling 90-day period, unless otherwise specified in your organization's payment plan. To check your current recording storage settings, navigate to your Storage page on your Lessonspace dashboard > Settings > Recordings.

Note: Only organization admins can change recording settings.

On the Storage page, you'll find information about how much storage space is being used in gigabytes, and you have the option to modify your organization's recording deletion period.

Change recording storage duration

You have control over the retention period of session recordings. You can select a pre-defined retention period, a custom period (in days), or “forever”

You can change the data retention period, but be aware of the following:

  • If you increase storage beyond 90 days, you'll need to confirm the additional charges. This will be reflected on your next invoice.

  • If you reduce your current retention period, you'll need to confirm that recordings older than the new retention period will be permanently deleted.

Deleting recordings

To delete an individual recording, find the session on your Sessions page and select Delete from the More Actions menu.

You'll need to confirm that you want to delete the recording. Once deleted, a recording cannot be viewed or restored.

Once a recording has been deleted, the session will display a Recording Deleted message.

FAQ

How much are recordings?

Recordings are charged $0.20/GB. You'll see an estimation of costs on the Recordings page on your dashboard.

Can I recover a deleted recording?

Deleted recordings are processed for deletion immediately. In some cases, we may be able to recover them, but this cannot be guaranteed. If you need assistance, please contact us at [email protected].

Why can't I delete a recording?

Only organization admins can delete recordings.

Why does it say "Recording Unavailable"?

This usually means recordings were not enabled for the session. Check your global recording settings, and if applicable, check whether recordings were overridden for the specific Space. If the session has just ended, the recording may still be processing. Please wait a minute and try again.

Did this answer your question?